When the winner of your inaugural tournament is a Hall of Famer who goes on to win more tournaments (88) than any player in history, maybe it’s a good omen for a long successful run. Kathy Whitworth’s 1972 victory at Portland Golf Club began a tradition of legendary champions.

For more than 40 years the best in women’s golf have come to the Portland area, producing 12 Hall of Fame winners and one soon to be inducted. Whitworth won five times including three times with another Hall of Famer, Donna Caponi, when the tournament was a team championship. One of the most popular players to play in Portland and around the world, Nancy Lopez, was a four-time winner. Northwest native, JoAnne Carner won three times. Among Annika Sorenstam’s 72 career victories are back-to-back Portland Classic championships in 2002-2003 when she was the dominant #1 ranked player in the world. Also winning as the top ranked player was Lorena Ochoa, who won 2007 and is eligible for the Hall of Fame in 2017.

Juli Inkster clinched her Hall of Fame membership with her 1999 victory.
Amy Alcott, Ayako Okamoto, Judy Rankin, Betsy King, Patty Sheehan, and Sandra Haynie round out the list of Hall of Fame names etched on the Portland Classic trophy.

View Past Winners